RSS

Over the Ocean with Virgin Atlantic!

05 Oct

Image

“I could have gone on flying through space forever.” – Yuri Gagarin

In the middle of May 2002, I began my Sunday morning with a 6am flight from Madison, WI (MSN) after attending my little sister’s college graduation. I made a quick connection in Detroit (DTW) before landing at Boston’s Logan Airport (BOS). Roommate Eric picked me up in the late morning and we headed back to our apartment in Brookline hoping to take a nap before heading back to the airport for my evening flight to London. Little did I know, this would be the day I met my future wife, our lives to be forever intertwined beginning on that Virgin Atlantic flight while sharing the same row of seats. What are the odds in a plane full of people? I was disappointed when the hop across the pond was over and, like Yuri Gagarin, “I could have gone on flying through space forever.”

As it turns out, we were both on the same summer semester program from Boston University and would spend the next three months taking classes, exploring London and Europe together. We went to the movies, to bars, dinners or just walked together through historic Hyde Park or South Kensington, where we were living. ImageWe often reminisce about this summer as one without too much responsibility (besides the schoolwork we were expected to complete), the fun adventures we had together and with our group (Watching the World Cup at our local pub the Zetland Arms at 7am on a Tuesday with our professor).  ImageSome folks would claim that it was fate.  Some would say it is coincidence.  I am more of a    math/science/analytical guy and I don’t think I believe in fate. My wife will disagree with me but I believe it was a very fortunate/happy coincidence that our paths crossed the summer of 2002.

This summer was the time in my life when the world that I had known turned upside down and my personal path would be altered, from the one I thought I was on.  Thank you J. I love you!

Who believes in Fate?  Is it still considered “fate” if you don’t believe in it?  Is coincidence enough to explain how certain things come to pass?  Any thoughts on this one are welcomed.

To say that I met my wife on a plane is a great story.  I am excited to see how the rest of the story transpires.

(to be continued)…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 5, 2012 in Personal Dissection

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
